soil test- interperate

buckhunter10

Ok this is not my first rodeo with soil tests. However, it is my first time getting tests that give me a CEC and OM reading. I spread the AG lime very heavy last year as my soil PH was around 5.5 on most fields. As you can see the PH is looking fantastic.

IMG_2487.JPG
IMG_2488.JPG
IMG_2489.JPG
IMG_2490.JPG

I do use tillage but I try to not go over kill. I might till once a year. I also typically oversewed any crop I plant so I have green growing in plots most of the year.

My farm is in Appalachia and the soil CEC is showing pretty darn good for my region and the research I have done so far.

So anything else i can do to increase OM? Spread chicken litter? Any reason I should do that? IF these where your tests what would you do?

Here's the Readers Digest version of how I think of soil....It's a bucket full of everything you need to grow plants. Some of what's in the bucket you can affect. Other things not so much. For me, and many will argue the point, CEC and organic matter are factors I'm just going to accept. They tell a story about the productivity of your soil. Yes, CEC numbers change a little as you modify the soil chemistry and one can build organic matter over time.....and with lots of effort, but to what effect?
Applications of manure will add OM. Stopping all tillage will preserve the OM you have. Planting strategies involving root and plant mass are available to help build OM. But, do the math. The top 6-inches of soil weights a million pounds. What's one-percent? that's how much OM you need to add to get a boost.

I know you're proud of you pH. But, stop liming for a couple years. Too high isn't any better than too low.

Back to that bucket. There are some elements you can add that will stay in the bucket even if the plant does't use them. For food plots I like to keep P & K levels medium to medium high. A couple of your samples indicate deficiencies in one or the other.