Help for a newbie

boot

My family has had some property for a while now but recently have been looking at getting some habitat for deer and pheasant going. The property is located in Western KS (Hot & dry but can get water to plots) we rotate out every year between corn & milo on the irrigated farm land, so food isn't an issue for the wildlife, but am really in need of some good thick bedding grass/cover. I am new to habitat management & planting so looking for information & advice on honestly almost every aspect of this.

This spring we have several strips of ground that have been nothing but weeds or failed food plots that have been sitting idle for several years and would like to get some grass planted in them. Did a soil test: Phosphorus: Very High/86ppm; Calcium/ Adequate 3214ppm; PH 7.0; Organic matter 4.9%.

Any pointers on good grass that will grow well in those kind of conditions, like I said we can get water to those strips. Also for site prep what is recommended? Tractor is currently undergoing some major work so any implements that can run off an atv are ideally what I am looking for. Thanks everyone!

Well, I question how the rotation of corn and milo equate to well fed deer. I'm not saying deer are not well fed, but milo covers a small period in the fall when the seed heads ripen and corn provides good winter food until it is harvested. Both corn and milo provide good cover from at least summer until they are harvested.

Your strips of ground that have been "nothing but weeds" is likely good deer food if they are a healthy mix of different native weeds and not dominated by a single noxious weed.

Weeds, if managed correctly can be great deer food and cover. Before planting WSNG, I'd watch the video at the beginning of this thread: Weed Management Thread

Most warm season grasses do best when drilled if you decide to go that route.