Soil health ?

OHBB437

Ive been tilling plots for 12 years give or take. My soil has suffered and im looking at changing planting methods. I grabbed some seed from green cover for my fall plots. Going to try and start the no till process grant woods is using where he has summer and fall release blends. My issue is I dont have a planter/drill, crimper, cultipacker. Ive heard of people broadcasting into standing forage and then mowing over the seed... Any reccomendations for a guy on a tight budget?

With that said, has anyone perfected the throw and mow? Ive browsed the thread, is there anyone with continual success? Also what are the steps, broadcast, mow, herbicide ahead of rain? What happens if you have a layer of thatch, does the seed work its way through? Sorry for the beginner questions.

Check out the throw n mow thread. There is some good info on there. Spray, seed, mow is the best bet. Rainfall will be the key to your success

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

You don't say what you have been planting in the past so not sure what be broadcasting in to. But I'll give these suggestions.
Have soil test readings of ph of at least 6-7 and all others at High to VH readings helps with TnM.
TnM tends to do better when following several seasons of rotational plantings of the likes of brassicas, clovers, and grains.
You don't need any high tech equipment. A bag spreader and pull behind spreader sufficient.
WW, WR, RC,WC, and various brassicas do well with TnM especially if done before a rain. I do oats and peas at times also but they are more picky.
I sometimes spray with gly, throw seed, and mow. Often I don't terminate with Gly, and just throw, mow. Some years I don't even mow.
I no longer have dedicated plantings. I plant my brassica late July/early Aug. Then late Sept thru Nov, I overseed a grain and RC into the brassica. Some years I plant all at the same time depending on my mood. I often will add 19-19-19 and Urea for the brassica.