Drone Recovery Service

mattpatt

Anyone here familiar with drone recovery services for wounded animals? How much they charge, etc. We do not have anything like that around here and I’m considering starting up something like this for local hunters this deer season.

Matt

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

I've read about it but never used it. It is still pretty new, so different folks will charge different fees. I don't think anything has standardized yet. I'm a tech guy. It can be pretty effective in open country, but if you have a closed canopy it is much less effective. Most use a combination of a thermal imaging camera and optical camera.

From a business perspective, it probably depends on what your time is worth. The equipment is not a huge expense and over time, you could make enough to pay for it. I would think about hunter demand for this service. Certainly, if most hunters shoot a big buck, and can't find it, they may be willing to pay for a recovery service if they can afford it. But, that is a small percentage of deer and hunters. Most deer harvested will be small bucks, does, and fawns. While many of us who have a passion for wildlife management have an ethos that requires us to make every reasonable effort to recover an animal we shot, I'm not sure how deep that ethos goes in the general hunting community. I think some folks have the perspective that as long as they look for the deer, it's "good enough". After all, a dead deer just goes back into the cycle of live and other wildlife will feed on it.

The second thing to consider is the competition...Dogs. A good deer tracking dog does not have the limitation of a closed canopy. I know many guys who just enjoy working with dogs. For them, deer recovery is as much personal enjoyment as it is a money maker.

This is all just food for thought. While I wouldn't quite my day job, it could be an interesting and fun side gig if you enjoy working with tech.