Tag Alder Wetlands Improvement

i have a wetland area on my property that has a fair amount of dense tag alder along with some big maples and the typical wetland grass. During the winter the deer seem to stay on the edges. Has anyone done any improvements in these types of areas and what did you do? Also did it work? I would like to also put something in to provide some more food/thermal cover.

Based on your posts Prelude, it seems we are in very similar situations and your land sounds akin to ours in northern Minnesota.

We are also on tag alder swamps and have pockets of higher grounds. The only difference I notice is that your mature trees are maples, whereas we have mostly poplar, but the maples are starting to move in as the poplars are dropping.

I am no expert, but we have started a 15 year or so forest restoration on our land since I took over management of it (previously there was none). Our first step was to harvest small pockets of the poplar to provide a better age structure to our trees. I would do the same on your property. We had about a 5-fold increase in deer traffic inside the woods just by opening up the canopy in a few spots to provide feeding opportunities. Mature maple is similar to mature poplar, not much deer value.

We took some small cut areas and tried to encourage growth of some more native trees that would provide deer cover. We are planting 1500 trees this spring that are a mix of spruce, cedar and young maple, all of which are tree types that grow in wet areas. On top of this, we are mixing in some dogwood (silky and RO) along with american plum to provide some additional cover.