The Right 15

jvanhees

Hey All - My name is Jared and I have a deer hunting problem. ;) I have also been tagging along on other's land tours for a while now and just love it. I feel like I am there sometimes. I have been deer hunting since I was 12, and bow hunting since 14, but didn't get serious until late college. This puts me at 8 years of serious deer hunting if my math is correct.

I want to start off by saying thanks to all the very knowledgeable people. Thank you for what has already been contributed on this forum, the old QDMA forum, and even on FB. I am green in the property ownership and habitat world, but find myself reading about it almost daily on this forum, FB and MI Sportsman. I have been learning and watching for a couple years now, and can say that there is a sufficient amount of knowledge to be had, and for me to learn. Threads like TripleC's, Buckhunter's and Stickbow's keep me tagging along. Thank you and keep it up!

To the fun stuff! I was lucky enough to close on 15 acres in Jackson County MI last week. I had been looking and walking properties for over 2 years, and this parcel, although smaller than I would like, stuck with me after I walked it. It was also affordable, which caught my attention...and it was located in one of the top deer hunting counties in MI. It is a little over an hour from my house. It backs up to a large 200 acre swamp, and has deer cooperative neighbors(on what level I do not know).

My goal is to have a solid chance at a 3.5+ year old buck each season. May be tough on 15.

Another goal would be to build a small deer camp/family cabin off the road. It is important to me to get my twin 2 year old girls into the outdoors with Dad. The cabin isn't needed for that but would be awesome for a place to sleep and for great memories. We will camp too in summer.

I have always told myself I would rather have 15 or 20 acres in the right spot, than 40-80 in the wrong spot. We will see if that holds true.

Last edited: