Newbie qustions

jfinn

Well as I said I'm brand new to hunting and haven't even harvested my 1st animal yet but I have some questions in regards to after the shot. Is a skinning knife used for filed dressing? Would a 270 caliber be used for most large game (deer mostly)? When I'm shopping for clothing what is how important is matching the camo pattern for the area I'm planning on hunting? What is a good bow and arrow that isn't going to cost me much more than $500. Thanks for the input I'm sure I will have more questions.

1. Yes a skinning knife is what you need to field dress a deer. You can get on YouTube and likely find videos how to properly field dress a deer.
2. A 270 is a large enough caliber to hunt deer and elk. The bullets you use are very important to match the catridge to the animal you are shooting. Cartridges come in different grains (weights of the bullet) and different types of tips.
3. Camo is not as important as sitting still and picking a good location. Put the sun in the animals eyes if you have a choice not in your eyes. Be mindful of the wind. The best camo in the world will not conceal unnecessary movement on the hunter's part.
4. A bow is specific to the hunter - draw length and weight of the bow. Best advice is to go to a good archery shop and tell them you are a beginner and what your budget is. They likely to have some used bows that you can shot to get a feel for the skill and the weapon. It starts with a bow and the arrow is secondary and the broadhead is 3rd. You have to determine which is your dominant eye. The archery shop will help you determine that. Bows are much improved in the last 10 years. Accuracy is more important than speed.

Welcome to the forum. I see you are from Wisconsin. Have fun and be safe.

Wayne

Last edited: