BP - Property Tour

cutman

Administrator
Staff member
Well, I guess it's time for me to put my money where my mouth is. This is my first property tour thread, so please bear with me.

Though I don't own this land, my family did own it for about 40 years. We sold it 2.5 years ago and I stayed on as the property manager. I take care of the land for the absentee landowner and in return get exclusive hunting rights.

It's roughly 300 acres of high land with another 200 acres of marsh located in the South Carolina lowcountry. I've been practicing QDM on it for 15+ years.

When you drive in, there are roughy 5 acres of fields on both sides of the driveway. On the left (North side), I have a deer stand in a palmetto tree.

The stand faces north, and I primarily sit in it late season when the prevailing wind is from the north. I've got corn planted this summer, and I planted a pear/chestnut orchard over the last few years.

Facing NE:

Facing N:

Facing NW:

One of the Dunstans is producing a good amount of nuts this year. I planted it 5 years ago.

On the south side of the driveway, I've got 4 acres of Wannamaker Magic Carpet planted. It's primarily forage beans and clay peas with a smidge of buck wheat and sunflowers. I also added 6 lb of sunn hemp per acre. There is a wooden lean up stand overlooking these fields, and I sit it when the prevailing wind is from the south.

I've spread 250 lbs of milorganite per acre on these 4 acres twice (two weeks ago and today)...that's the ONLY reason they look good. The deer will hammer them shortly.

As you move east through the property, you pass the storage sheds and farm equipment. If you head north from the sheds through the woods, you will reach one of my favorite spots. It's a 0.5 acre clearing - .4 is food plot, the rest is s mixture of trees I've planted.