Problems with first trail camera

oporhatch

I am new to trail camera's and therefore are at the very early stages . Bought a £70 trail camera to begin with as the area i am monitoring is a farm quite
away from my house .
Currently the camera is triggering but the picture is not clear
Also sometimes it fires a video as well , which you can view ok …. It sure why sometimes
just looking for some guidance - it’s a sim trail camera
Currently looking at SD card , but have tried 2 already
Any help or ideas would be appreciate SACIDGIGK6KCQMGO2O7A_20231223_131351_000_10_P.jpeg

You don't mention the specific cam, but in general low end cams are built in Chinese factories with very poor quality control. They have a high failure rate and a short lifespan. If you cam is still under warranty, return it. It is not uncommon with these low end cams to need multiple replacements under the warranty period.

Trailcams go out sometimes. Even expensive ones (I had a cuddilink go out 364 days after buying it). If you aren't to picky I'd suggest a Walmart Tasco cam. I've got a couple at around $29 each. Not the quietest but they've done me well by lasting several yrs. In fact now that I think of it 2 of the 3 I've bought outlasted the Brownings I bought at the same time.
Good luck!

I've been running my network of Buckeye Cams 24/7/365 for around 15 years. I've only had a couple failures and those were repaired by the company. Quite expensive up front, but reliable with a long lifespan. They are not for everyone, but there are high end cams that are reliable.

With the low end stuff, the biggest issue is QC. So, one guy can get a cam that runs for a few years and the next guy might need several warranty exchanges in the first year.