Soil PH

Buckman

I have been planting food plots in my same handful of spots for quite a few years with great success. However last year I had a farmer spread cow manure on my food plots and it seems like ever since then the deer don’t want to eat the crop as much. I had corn, soybeans, brassica blend and winter rye and they didn’t seem to want to spend much time in any of my food plots this year. 5-6 acres total. I have been rotating these same crops for quite a few years. My question is, do you think it’s possible that spreading that manure heavily on there changed the ph of the soil and made the food less palatable to the deer? The crops turned out great with large bulbs, a lot of pods on the beans and a lot of corn. I plan to ph test in the spring. Thanks

Cow manure is highly alkaline, and it can raise soil PH. However, if the crops "turned out great" as you said, I doubt that is why you saw less use by deer. In years when acorns are plentiful, you will generally see food plots used much less than normal. Also, baiting or plantings done by neighbors can have an impact on how much your plots are used.

PS - My main plot is where cattle were fed (and robustly pooped) for over 30 years. Once the cows were gone and I started plotting, the deer immediately started using the plots. But we had an incredible acorn crop this year, and mine were not used much either. Good luck.

Another thing to keep in mind. I have done it. When you have a plot that turns out incredible, you may have a tendency to overhunt it hoping the draw to such an incredible buffet will outweigh any impact you may have on it. That is not necessarily the case. I'm not sure of your exact situation, but it happened to me once.

Other thoughts on the subject:

1) It is easy to do something different and think that is the culprit. There are lots of variables. Plot use varies with both hunting pressure as stated above, and the availability of native foods, and significant habitat changes in the area.