Pear Tree Planting?

deer patch

I'm new to the fruit tree planting so bear with me. I have 3 different plots that I was going to plant them in so they will have direct sunlight. I was going to get some Kieffer trees and was wondering do you guys and gals normally plant 2 or 3 of the same tree in the same area? I've seen both but was thinking 3 is better than 2. Was also thinking about getting some Korean Giant say 1 for each planting. I know I will have to protect them from browsing and rubbing. What else do I need to do?

Yes, I would plant more than one of the varieties I wanted the most.

I would also put down some small ground mats to suppress the vegetation near the roots for the first few years to give them a good start.

Water the first couple of years if it gets dry, and then they should be able to take care of themselves after that.

Help shape them a little in the first few years and get the lower branches at the height you want them.

Consider adding some screen wire at the bases to protect from rodents gnawing the bark. I didn't do this at first and paid for it last winter. I had 2 nice apple trees to get gnawed pretty badly. As time permits, I will go back and do this on all fruit trees.

I would also consider maybe one or two other pear varieties at each location. You could go with something a little earlier or later dropping, depending on what you wanted. Moonglow, Ayers, Warren or others would be a good choice. Most experts say that Kieffer will produce larger crops when pollinated by different varieties. I can't say, because I have always had multiple varieties around.

Good luck.........

Last edited:
All if my little pear groups are in groups of 3 to 4. For example in one planting I have a 2 Kieffer, 1 moonglow, and 1 Orient. In another I planted 2 orients, 1 kieffer, and 1 wild pear. All are caged with weed mats and screening matrial around the base. I just feel that cross pollination will ensure a better crop.