2024 tree and shrub planting

Jsteinke5188

I'm looking what trees and shrubs I can get ordered up and plant this spring... hopefully bareroot. I've been planting both for about 3 years now. My 10 acres has nothing but big pines on the ridge, and a swamp full of dead spruce. The only tree worth a damn is the oak right next to the house!

I've went heavy with the white oaks, swamp whites, and burs. Should I get some red oak going? 🤔 diversify? Better growth with a red?

Also, with shrubs, I've planted silky and red osier dogwoods. Serviceberry, ninebark, hazelnut, plums. I'm using the shrubs mostly for a screen for my food plot. The road is 200 yds away but you can see right to my food plot so I want cover and a nice thick screen to keep the neighbors eyes from wandering. Possibly mix in pines of some sort along my screen?
My main goal is to improve the property for mice all the way to deer bear and wolves. Plant things that both my family and the wildlife can benefit from. And close off that wide open food plot! In total I've planted about 100 trees n bushes, got about 70 left. I cage everything, water when I can[ I live 5 hours south], and try to fertilize a bit. Also added about 15 apple pear and plum trees.

So... fast growing shrubs? switch up to red oaks? Also, I'm in zone 4a, northern WI. Right on the border of the Yoopers!

Thanks!

You definitely want to add a few red oaks too. Northern Red should do well in your area. Reds keep feeding the deer in late winter and into early spring after the whites are gone.

I don't have a lot of other advice for you. You said you were caging everything, which tells me you are doing things right and not a novice at this type of thing. Just choose species that will thrive in your northern climate and meet your goals.