Nw flordia rut?

Bry4982

this is my first year deer hunting here in flordia. I have hunted point washington, yellow river, and blackwater. I have hunted very hard last 2 weeks. Lots of does but zero bucks. I have found maybe 2 rubs but they are year or 2 old. My question is did they rut already here or is it still early. Where is all the rut sign? Im a very experienced hunter and this is extremely frustrating. Help please!!!!

NW Florida and the Panhandle Aera is a whole different deal.

Rut there can be from mid to late December to early March. Really depends on What County you are in.
My Area in Washington County tends to fall in the 1st or 2nd week of February.

Should be seeing scrapes and rubs now or at least very soon then???

They begin to Rub usually in October and will be Hard Horned by Mid October.

Forget EVERYTHING you know about hunting Deer when you are in that part of the world. Although they are Hard Horned and will be rubbing trees in October and possibly start Scrapes the Rut Activity heats up any time now. Really depends on the Area.

If your not hunting a Food Source then it really can get frustrating! They will NOT be using Travel Corridors to and from Bedding Aeras to Food, they will Bed anywhere they Dang Well Feel Like and their Food is all over in Browse and Whatnot.

Toughest Hunting I've ever done.

Now if you can build a Food Plot or out up a Feeder, you will increase your odds but I find they still have no set patterns.

But it can be done, stick with it to figure out YOUR area.

Thanks everyone for your replies. Yes it is by far the hardest whitetail country i have ever hunted. Especially public land. Hopefully i can find a lease to join soon