Who I Am...

Bowriter

By way of introduction: I am a semi-retired outdoor writer and deer manager. At one time, I wrote for 19-different magazines-mostly bowhunting publications and was an editor with Bow and Arrow Hunting Magazine. I currently have, the longest continuously running newspaper column in the US-45-years. I was on television for four-years and have made videos on hunting deer and elk. I have managed large operations for deer and am a graduate of the U of WY where I mainly studied elk. Those are my bona fides. Now, I live outside Nashville, TN and write some, hunt when I feel like it, fish when the weather is nice. Over the years, I have lived and hunted in TX-IL-WY-ND-TN. I have been in TN since 1972.

I have a sizable deer population in my backyard which I see and study almost daily. I use no trail cams, do no supplemental feeding. None is needed. In a normal year, I will kill five or six does. Three are given to needy families. Occasionally, I kill a buck. This year two, one by mistake, one cause he made me mad. 140-is a big deer for my county.

I have, by rough count, 19-animals that qualify for one record book or another. I have never sent one in, most are whitetail deer. I no longer care one whit about antlers. My main interests lie with mock rubs, scrapes and licking branches and…I am dang sure still learning.

So-that is my background.

Two "book" bucks in one morning in two different states.40 years #5.jpg

Welcome. I love that part of Tennessee. Wish I were there again from time to time.

Hello Friend,

Wayne Pruett from Portland, TN. The WY reference in the post gave me a clue and the photo closed the deal. My son Jackson is now 40 years old and an excellent hunter. Do you remember walking our farm back in the late 80s / early 90s.

That farm was timbered 2 years ago and we are ruffing in 14 food plots now. Plots on the ridges - one large on in the bottom field. The Hollows are the deer sanctuaries.