Tree Protection Question - Mats and Tubes and Cages (oh my...)

LodgeWI

How do you all protect your trees in the following situations?

1. Open fields/field edges (not on forest line)/orchard?
2. Open areas within wooded/forest?
3. Forest edges?

For #1, I use 3x3 weed mats, 5 foot tubex tubes (from tree protection supply) and wire cages with 3-4' diameters.

The real reason I ask this question is because next spring I plan to plant some crabs and other apple/fruit trees on the edges of forest clearings (#2 above) and on forest edges (#3) above. In these situations, is a well-staked 5' tubex tube and 3x3 weed mat going to protect the trees enough from nibbling deer, or do I need to cage them as well. I'm not really excited about caging things outside of open areas.

P.S. can you tell I'm a novice?

Every property is unique, based on deer population. A tube will deter deer from browsing, but deer will destroy a tube if they're so inclined. For Fruit trees, and special trees a cage is a must! Rigid mesh tubes on bamboo stakes are the lowest level of protection, and deters browse.

Protection needs change with the season.
During Spring and Summer trees need protection from deer browsing.
In the Fall trees need protection from bucks rubbing.
Winter protection is critical, or rodents will girdle the tree, so even a caged tree need to have it's stem protected.

5ft tube will completely protect a fruit tree here for me in Oklahoma. I don't tube and cage--it either one of the other.

todd

I use tubes sometimes, and I use cages sometimes. I always use window screen. I always keep grass away from the base either with spray or landscape fabric.

dogdoc is someone I followed on QDMA's forum when it came to tree tubes, etc. Always provided great advice.