Food Plots Down South

Kade.Poole

Good Evening Everyone,
My name is Kade Poole. I’m new to the page and I’m really look forward to learning some information from some of you who have been successful or unsuccessful in the food plot world. I live is South Georgia, land of the pines. I’ve always been the guy who just pours our corn or deer attractant. However, I really want to learn about food plots and how to establish and keep them going.
My wife’s family has a few different properties we hunt. I’m mainly going to focus on one property that most of the family doesn’t hunt. She has a few cousins and uncle who lets say kill everything that walks. I’ve tried to get them to buy into the building a herd and trying to grow some decent bucks for our area with no luck.
The property I’d like to get some opinions/thoughts on is around a 415 acre property. Her family does hunt some of this property so there is around a 150 acres that none of them have any stands or anything one. It is mainly pine trees, Palmetto Bushes Thickets, it does have oaks scattered throughout the property. and open areas that flood occasionally. It is very sandy. There are some transition lines where older lines meet younger pines, 2 path roads, Etc.
I’m looking to plant a few of the roads, some of the more open pine rows that do get a little sunlight, and there are a few areas I’m going to cut down some trees to build some No till plots. All of these plots will be no till while using sprayers, broadcasters, rakes, and eventually a cultipacker.
I’d like any input on how to go about this process. What seeds? What fertilizer and/or Lime? Etc.
Thanks in Advance

I'd get a soil test from each plot first. I'd also start with a simple mix like wheat and crimson clover. Maybe throw in some radish, but that should get you a good plot for fall through spring. Trees near the edges will suck up the light, water, and nutrients.