Old Field Habitat out of cutover in Mississippi

I’m starting a podcast talking about native habitat restoration/management of a 5 yr old cutover. I am a Landscape Hortoculturalist by trade in Louisiana, and an amateur native habitat restorer for wildlife on my property in Smith County Mississippi.

The podcast is under this name: Restoring the Ground. The podcast is on Spotify and Apple. I also have a Facebook page - Restoring The Ground.

The podcast will primarily be about habitat restoration on a 218 acre property that was 95% clear cut 5 years ago. I will be sharing my journey of trying to find information on what to do with a young cut over, and where I have found help and feedback. I have found that almost no one talks about how to restore a property that has been clear cut without doing a complete start over. I didn't want to destroy the 4 years of natural tree regeneration when I purchased the property.

A forester wants to spray herbicide and replant in pine trees, and no one else really gives any information on what to do except burn the property. I was looking for structure and strategy in my work. I wanted a plan, and in this podcast, I share where I started and where I am trying to get.

I found help from a Wildlife Biologist through the Mississippi Department of Wildlife and Fisheries. He has been very helpful to give feedback, answer questions, and someone I can bounce ideas off of.

I’ve spent hundreds of hours over the last 16 months brush cutting to create Old Field type settings. I will talk about the successes and failures I’ve had in these areas. I’ll talk about what an Old field setting is and the vegetation that is preferable for wildlife. I will refer quite a bit to articles written by Wildlife Biologists and studies they have produced, and then tell you my results as I try to put them into practice.