Herbicide drift question

gasman

I have a field that is about four acres in size. A local farmer has had it planted in clover/ alf alfa the last few years (mostly grass now) He wants to spray it this summer and plant with radishes and clover to help the soil. Next year it would be planted with soy beans. I have 6 apple trees that are 6 to 10 feet in height and about 40 that I have in tubes around the edges of the field. I have no experience with how much the spray would drift and I am worried about the trees getting killed. Any experiences anyone can share. I understand it would depend on windy it is the day of the spraying.

how good of a sprayer does the farmer have? i've seen the one spray at my house with blowing blowing 10 mph or so probably and could not hardly seen any sign of drift. he's got one those nice tractor sprayers though not just tank and boom though.

If he's going with soybeans next year realize that he will probably be spraying then also. Like was said it depends on his equipment and how good he is about staying away from your trees. Spray when super calm with the right nozzles and drift control agents. He should also stay out away from the trees around the edges. Do that and they should be fine. Otherwise, good luck! Do you know what he's planning on using for herbicide?

Many mature apple trees some with low branches grow in hedgerows maybe as close as five feet from the sprayed edge and have never seen any spray damage from farmers using roundup. For such small trees it might be worth considering different things like prespraying your trees with a good rust preventative to maybe reduce the impact of roundup if he is using roundup.That is just an idea--don't KNOW if it would help. I'd also have a large tank of water ready and I'd wash the apple trees leaves with water immediately after he sprays.