Help with my first plot

Eshoremd

So I got my four wheeler and bought a drag harrow, pull behind sprayer and pull behind spreader.

I marked and sprayed glyph Saturday. Its a quarter acre. This Saturday I'll probably get the soil sample, dump out 500lbs of lime and drag the harrow.

Do you guys think I should just focus on getting the soil right and plant late summer and if so what should I plant?

Or do you think I should plant something now? And if so what?

I was also thinking about spraying the surrounding 10 yrds with Clethodin to kill grasses but let forbes grow.

This is on Maryland's eastern shore.

Welcome to the board!

I’m a newbie to the food plot world and there are many knowledgeable folks on here.

First, follow through with getting the soil sample and amend accordingly.

Regardless of your soil test, you can plant buckwheat once the frost danger passes. Other forages that are forgiving of soil conditions are iron clay cow peas and Sunn Hemp. Deer will reportedly wipe out small plots of iron clay cow peas.

I haven’t planted anything except white clover and rye last year but intend to plant a combination of buckwheat, iron clay cow peas and Sunn Hemp in the next few weeks if I can get my atv running.

Forgot to mention, if you decide to plant buckwheat soon you can either till it in or throw and mow late summer with a cool season crop like clover, oats, brassica etc

I appreciate the info. I read up on the buckwheat, peas and hemp. Later in the summer what exactly would I need to do? Bushhog the plot, spray and then go over the ground with the harrow?