Heaping Excavator Bucket Capacity?

MarkDarvin

Hey all, I'm an effective amatuer when it comes to running equipment. I'm planning to undertake my own pond dig next year. I'm going through the motions of calculating how much dirt I need to move and then backing that into how big of a digger I need to get it done in 5 days. The question I have is this:

How much dirt can I actually dig per heaping scoop with a 1.3 yd bucket if I have good dry clay (not sticky, no rocks, no mud). I have a lot of experience (10 days on an excavator) digging dry clay on my property, and I can get way more than a level bucket out with each scoop. I'm wondering if I can do 2 yards with a heaping 1.3 yd bucket per scoop, or what that number could reasonably be for estimating purposes.

Last edited:
I'm also open to hiring the project out. I'm going to price it both ways and weigh the differences. I've got a call out to the local excavator guy to see what he thinks of the project.

Based on my experience, I’d say a heaping scoop could be up to 30% more than bucket capacity. I’ll ask some of my friends who do this professionally.

You can probably get two yards by heaping it up, but as a lifelong dozer, hoe, and motor grader operator, as well as a contractor, don’t figure on it. Always cut yourself a little slack or you will be over budget. I don’t know your situation, but I would use a dozer if it’s good ground, that way you place your dirt where it needs to go and somewhat compact it at the same time. That said, a contractor that does that type of work will probably be quicker and do a better job than an effective amateur. No offense Mark, but when I need an electrician I hire one, because as an electrician, I’m a damn good dozer hand. 😁