What happened ?

Here's a "What have you got to lose, today", thought and a couple of facts.

1. Cowpeas, unlike soybeans will regrow if they have been nipped off to the dirt. If it weren't for the weeds and grasses you have, the cowpeas could recover. I've seen a 6" tall plant, have 24 leaves nipped off of it and kept trying to grow.

2. Cowpeas can take a dose of 22 ounce/acre (maximum) of glyphosate, and come back .... yes they can, I've done it, if you have anything left in there, it may be an option for you.

Worth a try and what have you got to lose? If you do it and if you see any peas recover, put an exclusion cage up around them. Next year, it won't matter what you put inside the hot fence, as it will keep most of the critters out.

Sunn Hemp, I have no experience with, but from what I have heard, you'll want to keep it mowed under 3' tall. If it gets 6' tall, usage goes down and you have a hard time working it back in to the soil.

Here's a "What have you got to lose, today", thought and a couple of facts.

1. Cowpeas, unlike soybeans will regrow if they have been nipped off to the dirt. If it weren't for the weeds and grasses you have, the cowpeas could recover. I've seen a 6" tall plant, have 24 leaves nipped off of it and kept trying to grow.

2. Cowpeas can take a dose of 22 ounce/acre (maximum) of glyphosate, and come back .... yes they can, I've done it, if you have anything left in there, it may be an option for you.

Worth a try and what have you got to lose? If you do it and if you see any peas recover, put an exclusion cage up around them. Next year, it won't matter what you put inside the hot fence, as it will keep most of the critters out.

Sunn Hemp, I have no experience with, but from what I have heard, you'll want to keep it mowed under 3' tall. If it gets 6' tall, usage goes down and you have a hard time working it back in to the soil.