Small Grains - how much is enough... or too much?

Brian

I was on the verge of a full-blown hijack of Fl Plotters thread and thought it was a good idea to start a new thread. Bottom line, I need some advice and guidance on planting rates!

First some background: I own 160 acres in SW Mississippi and planted my first plots in the fall of 2014, so I’m new to all of this. I have two primary plots, one is an acre and the other ½ acres plus a couple of smaller “pocket” plots. For the past 3 years I’ve planted a 50/50 mix of wheat and oats at 100-115#/ac. As I mentioned in another thread, I’m trying to build up my soil so I’m planning to substitute rye for wheat in the mix this year. I seeded clover (12# crimson and 4# arrowleaf per acre) in both plots 2 years ago; the larger feild established well and has reliably reseeded in the larger plot but the clover just didn’t take in the 1/2 acre plot. I will be broadcasting clover in the ½ acre plot this fall (our planting season is just starting) and also adding 4# chicory and 5# brassicas (3# of radishes and 2# rape) to both plots. (Those are all per-acre rates).

Most of the published sources I see recommend planting small grains at 50-60# an acre. Although I’m doubling that my plots are heavily utilized – the smaller plot stays eaten to the ground all winter and the 1 acre plot never gets above 6” or so until spring. I’ve been hesitant to experiment with lower seeding rates; I don’t get to hunt as much as I would like and I’m concerned the plots will get eaten out before the season ends on Jan. 30. On the other side of the coin, I can’t say that the amount of wheat and oats I planted wasn’t the cause of my clover failure in the ½ acre plot.