Reading a map - where to hunt?

gut_pile

Admittedly, I am not very good at reading topo and terrain maps and putting the pieces together of where to hunt. I understand how to read them, but have a hard time picking out "the spot" unless they are super obvious.

For those that hunt hilly terrain, and read maps often, where are your starting points when looking at this map?

Thanks in advance.

One of the most obvious places for a mature buck to bed to me is the military crest of a point. Since the wind changes, the spot can change. Ideally, it would be at the break where the deer is staring downhill with his eyes and watching his backside with his nose. Some of those points that drop off to the east on a day with wind from the west are likely to have deer bedding there.

Next find the eating spot, which can also change. It could be forbs one week, crops the next week, acorns thereafter and maybe even your neighbor's corn pile. Set up between bedding and feeding on travel lanes at a place where the wind is in your favor to hunt.

Of course, the real world is more difficult than it is on paper - otherwise we would all be successful all the time.

Then the rut changes everything. Secure travel areas where a lot of ground can be covered without too much exposure becomes important to bucks. Saddles on ridges are good places all the time but especially then.

East to West ridges especially for bucks in rut. Military crest as said and upper benches.
Saddles. Especially those that connect major drainages typically at head of hollow, ravine, holler, crick, whatever you might call them.
Side hill points especially if they can bed with back to wind overlooking downslope.
Main ridge intersections especially where 3 or more interconnect.
Down wind of feeding areas
Oak flats
Places you don't hunt, they know
And just general observation and boots on ground
Use a topo map rather than what you posted. Also areal photos from google maps to recognize different trees and fields