Questions on location set up

Let me start off by saying I am brand new to the trail cam community. I finally bought two moultrie cameras and put them out at my cabin a month ago. Last week I finally made it back up to my place for some field work. Anyway, went and pulled the cards. Apparently I didn't set them right as I had 8 pics on one and 11 on the other. On little buck on it. There was definite deer traffic as I could see the trail being with fresh tracks. So I believe I got that straightened out in the settings.
My question to guys that set a lot of cams up, how high off the ground is your standard? Also, how much distance do you like to have between active trails and the camera itself? What do most of you
Keep your picture quality set at?
How bout your time in between pics and time lapse setting.
I'm just curious on all this because I can only get to the cabin ever now and again. If I set them up with settings that are tried and true, it will save me some aggravation. Thanks

For height, I like about waist high, but do have a couple up in trees that I drive the truck up to and stand on the truck bed and check. In either case, just make sure the camera angle is right for where you want to capture pictures.

For trails, I would set for a fast time between pictures with very little lapse. Deer are generally moving along and not stopping on trails and even if you take the max number of pics, it shouldn't fill the card that quickly. However, on places where they stop and mingle around (like a mineral lick) you need to space the pictures out more or you will end up with a blue million pictures quickly.

Also for trails, I like to set the camera where it is looking down part of the trail - like at a curve. If you set it at a 90 degree angle, you will get a lot of rear end pictures, because the deer are moving as the camera is reacting. The closer to the trail, the more this will happen.