In Bullet Weight, Less Is More?

Steven A

I have been knocking deer over since the early 1960s. I grew up reading Robert Ruark and he said; "Use enough gun!" That is especially true when hunting the dangerous stuff that old Robert went after.

I have hunted nothing bigger or tougher than elk and they are not bullet proof.

I hand load and with the modern, bonded bullets, one can expect maximum penetration and a wide wound channel from much lighter bullets than used to be the case. Most of the older designed hunting bullets separated fast, after hitting heavy tissue and bone. Thus, losing critical amounts of their original weight and then, not being able to continue to penetrate and kill quickly and humanely.

Some time ago, I sold the magnum chambered rifles that I had and settled on using a Browning Stalker, chambered in 280Remington. The best, quick killing, bang/flop bullet that I have found for deer, up to and including big muley, is the Nosler 120gr. Ballistic Tip (Hunting). The only bullet that I recovered, using that 120gr. Nosler, was in the off side, frontal armor if a big wild boar hog. The bullet had broken the left shoulder and lanced through, stopping with just a bit sticking out of that tough frontal armor on the right side.

For all shots, I limit myself to 400 yds. or less. If I cannot stalk into that range, I figure that I am not much of a hunter. Give the game a chance to at least know that you are in the same county, before you kill him.

For elk, using the same 280Rem. chambered rifle, I move up in weight to the 160gr. Barnes Solid. Granted, I have only taken two bulls, but both hits were through and through with wide wound channels that would have bled out the bull quickly, had he not gone down right away.

I am not going to tell anyone what cartridge to hunt with. That said, does anyone really believe that given my own, self imposed range of 400 yards or less, that I need anything heavier than what I am using?

Comments appreciated.

Steven A