Anyone plant Eagle Soybeans, Managers Mix?

Weasel

My hunting buddy surprised me with a bag of Eagle Soybeans, Managers Mix, he picked up at the Ohio Deer and Turkey Expo from the Merit Seed booth. A much appreciated gift as a bag of those things are not cheap. Just curious to hear the good, the bad and the ugly from those of you who are familiar with them. Thank you.

Never planted them and finally have a field big enough to try them. I will be following along to see what others have to say.

Good, bad. ugly? I have been planting the Eagle Beans for about 10 years now and they have never failed me. Years with good rain they way out produce the deer in my small 1 acre plot of Eagle Beans and even in bad drought years they will at least keep up with browsing and even on the bad years I always have pods. The only bad thing is they can tend to be over browsed in high deer densities and get wiped out quickly. So be sure to plant a big enough plot or protect till they get established. Ain't nothin' ugly about Eagle Beans!

Good, bad. ugly? I have been planting the Eagle Beans for about 10 years now and they have never failed me. Years with good rain they way out produce the deer in my small 1 acre plot of Eagle Beans and even in bad drought years they will at least keep up with browsing and even on the bad years I always have pods. The only bad thing is they can tend to be over browsed in high deer densities and get wiped out quickly. So be sure to plant a big enough plot or protect till they get established. Ain't nothin' ugly about Eagle Beans!

Thanks Doc, are you using the Large Lad or other southern blend? No worries about over browsing, I am in bean and corn country. Just looking for an acre or two in a hidden back field of mine and hope to have pods for the late season. I might even fence some off for the late season if browsing gets heavy. Broadcast or row plant? Any other planting tips you've perfected over a decade of planting them?