Too Late for Frost Seeding

Warner32

Alright guys here is a quick dilemma for you... I'm planning on heading down to the farm this weekend for the first time in a while.. I've pretty much missed my chance at Frost seeding any type of clover into my tore up bare brassica plots that I did mix some clover in with last fall..
There is some existing clover but here are the temps for this weekend with rain coming in on Sunday
9bb87fc7679e8b6ae25965356391932a.jpg

Obviously temps are wayyy too high but what's the chances I get germination of some clover if I broadcast anyways on the mostly bare dirt the night before the rain? The soil is already pretty moist... you think lost cause with extremely low germination? I would plan on tilling in summer time but kinda wanted something for turkey season come late April and May ?

Sent from my iPhone using Deer Hunter Forum

I am no expert but that looks like a great time to throw out that clover seed and let that rain do its thing but I am in South Georgia.

I've actually have had better luck overseeding in late March. The ground is a soupy mess of muck from the rains and snows and seeds just suck right in to the soil. I've done all from oats to clovers to WR. I'll be doing my overseeding to freshen perenial clover this weekend with clover and chicory and even alfalfa ( yea I know you can't overseed alfalfa. Shame it hasn't known that the last 4 years;)). Go for it.

I've actually have had better luck overseeding in late March. The ground is a soupy mess of muck from the rains and snows and seeds just suck right in to the soil. I've done all from oats to clovers to WR. I'll be doing my overseeding to freshen perenial clover this weekend with clover and chicory and even alfalfa ( yea I know you can't overseed alfalfa. Shame it hasn't known that the last 4 years;)). Go for it.