smoke

Jeff H

I've been using smoke as a scent eliminator (not cover) for a couple years now. I've had really good luck with deer passing downwind of me and not showing any signs of winding me. I have never bought into the idea that smoke is a masking scent that deer in some areas are just used to. I believe that the carbolic acids in hardwood smoke kill the bacteria that causes human odor. I also believe that the smoke residue attaches itself to anything it comes in contact with, like grass and trees much like the human scent does. I don't believe that it totally eliminates human odor but from what I have experienced I believe it kills enough of the odor that it gives me the advantage I'm looking for. Honestly I should go buy an ozone generator but I love to tinker and I'm cheap. For the price of a can of pralines, a cheap plastic fan (1.00) and an old license plate I built a battery operated smoker that fits in my backpack. I take it with me on hunts and try to keep it burning the entire time I'm hunting. I also use it before and after a hunt to smoke my clothing.
One added benefit to using the smoker while hunting is I always know what the wind around me is doing. Who cares what the wind is doing across the field right? It's been a real eye opener to watch the smoke go in 4 different directions in the same morning.
Maybe I'm nuts but I'm a believer so far. Has anyone else used smoke in this way?