Rootstock in bear country

weekender21

I’m planning to graft a few trees this year. Narrowed rootstock down to M111, Antonovka, and B118.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I have no experience with bears, but I highly recommend avoiding B118. Over half of the trees I have on that rootstock are falling over. Other people at various locations around the country are having the same issue. You probably already know that Antonovka will give you a larger tree than MM111, but fruiting generally takes a few more years to start. Good luck.

PS - I'm piling dirt high around my B118 trees, hoping that they take root above the B118 rootstock. Time will tell if it works, but at least the weight of the extra dirt and bracing are keeping them from falling over right now.

I have no experience with bears, but I highly recommend avoiding B118. Over half of the trees I have on that rootstock are falling over. Other people at various locations around the country are having the same issue. You probably already know that Antonovka will give you a larger tree than MM111, but fruiting generally takes a few more years to start. Good luck.

PS - I'm piling dirt high around my B118 trees, hoping that they take root above the B118 rootstock. Time will tell if it works, but at least the weight of the extra dirt and bracing are keeping them from falling over right now.

Thanks Native, I’m leaning (pun intended) away from B118 due to those reports.

I think in the long run I’ll be happier with big sturdy Antonovka trees and l like the bonus that Antonovka produces a large hardy apple if the graft fails. I may end up grafting a few of each just because I can.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk