Red Oak acorn question

Tap

I'm not an oak expert, but I do know reds from whites and I also know that reds take 2 years to develop acorns. Can someone explain the process of acorn development on the reds?
I have a red that I got as a tiny bare root from the Arbor Day Society about 15 years ago and this year, for the 1st time, it has thousands of tiny acorns on it. Will they be fully mature and dropping this fall, or will they hold-on thru the winter and be mature next year?
I never really understood the "2 year" process of red acorn development.

Short answer, technically reds drop part of their crop and hold part which will drop the next year. So they really can produce yearly but drop almost every year, but do to maturation success, tend to show better some years than others. Reds require about 17 months maturation after pollination while whites are less than 6 months. Whites have a smaller acorn, reds and chestnut oak are larger but with more tannin which prevents their immediate destuction by animals as opposed to whites which are edible from start. Whites do not require cold stratifiacation for growth as do red acorns that require an overwinter of cold in order to root. Whites tend to produce yearly even tho most mast trees run on a a 3 year cycle of heavy production. Freezes during pollination is usually blamed for poor mast production but in reality heavy rains of even dew can hamper pollination moreso which can give poor mast crop in fall.
I did a thread called The Mighty Acorn, which I never finished which summarizes a multitude of studies going back 75 years on the subject if you want more info than a person probably needs. Pretty interesting stuff for the manager. I never got to the point of importance of fire and the acorn. This link might get you there, I'm not too good at this....

http://deerhunterforum.com/index.php?threads/the-mighty-acorn.1814/