Pre manufactured Building......help

cat, I'm not Mennoniteman (but I am a man and attend a Mennonite church ;)). I am a construction manager for a company that does mostly pre-engineered metal buildings, which is what I assume you are referring to as "steel I-beam type".

The first question - what size building are you looking at? If the span is 40' or less, check closely to be sure that you are getting a comparable package. My first suspicion is that if a pre-engineered metal building in the size range mentioned on this thread appears to be competitive with a pole building of identical dimensions, something is not "apples to apples". I say this because when I am contacted by someone looking for a quote on a 30 x 40 building (or similar size), my first question is "Do you want a pre-engineered metal building even if it costs more than a pole building?" If the answer is "I am looking for the best price/most economical", I suggest that they talk to one of the local reputable pole builders.

As Mennoniteman said, the cost of the foundations required for the metal buildings usually pushes them well above pole building costs, and I would add that most people are far more comfortable with (and better equipped for) adding their own finishes or additions to a wood-framed building.

If you are talking about spans of 60+', metal buildings may begin to compete, but spans of 80' and more are where steel really comes into its own, so to speak.