Planting bedding cover in pasture

NoviceTreeGuy

I was curious what everyone would do to plant bedding cover in old pasture ground that is currently short cold season grasses with zero cover.

Assuming a guy didn't want to plant warm season grasses like switchgrass, what type of species would grow up and be great bedding cover for big bucks within a few years?? Central Missouri is where we're located for reference.

I have some experience converting old pasture to bedding and nesting/brooding habitat in both Southeast and Southwest MO.
My farm is in Southeast MO, and I’ve been tackling similar projects the past few years.

Do you mind if I ask a few questions?
1) What is the plant composition of the field currently? For example, Cool season nonnative grass (as most pastures are where I come from).
2) Do you need to, or do you plan to kill off existing vegetation to achieve your goals?
3) What is the soil type and topography like where you’re wanting to do this?
4) What kind of equipment do you have at your disposal?

My apologies. I clearly missed you saying it was cool season grasses. I’ll blame my poor reading skills on my long day at work.

I would assume I need to kill off all the cool season pasture grass. I don't have much equipment other than a sprayer and mid size tractor. This is not flat or steep ground, but more rolling I would call it.

You have all the equipment you need. I’ve tried a few different techniques in different parts of my farm, and they’ve all been successful. My first attempts involved significantly more plantings, primarily shrubs from MDC nursery and some forb/pollinator type seed blends (mostly from RoundStone seed). At my place, deer do seem to love bedding amongst my plum thickets that I planted. Planting is a blast, but it’s also time consuming and incurs an obvious cost.